August 30th Environmental and Energy Stewardship Subcommittee Meeting Notes

August 30th, 2021 2pm at 200 College Street Room 310

Attendance:

- 1. Subcommittee members in attendance: Chairman Newman, Commissioner Wells, Commissioner Sloan
- 2. Staff in attendance: Sybil Tate, Michael Frue, Jennifer Harrison, Rafael Baptista, Jeremiah LeRoy, Ashely Featherstone, Betsy Brown, and Dane Pederson.

Meeting Notes

- Meeting Start
 - i. Meeting called to order
- 2. Topic Prioritization Review
 - a. Top 5 topics to focus on:
 - i. Climate Resiliency
 - ii. Renewable Energy Transition
 - iii. Water Quality
 - iv. Clean Energy Financing
 - v. Open Space
 - b. Subcommittee to receive presentation on existing County efforts on the top 5 at next meeting.
- 3. Subcommittee appointment recommendations
 - a. Subcommittee voted to recommend that the BOCC nominate the following individuals to the subcommittee
 - i. Meg Jamison
 - ii. Lena Hansen
 - iii. Maggie Ullman
 - iv. Jamie Ager
- 4. Bylaws Adoption
 - a. Public Comment will be at beginning of meeting versus end.
 - b. Updated Conflict of Interest language added in alignment with NCGS 160D
 - c. Will be called Climate and Environment Working Group
 - d. Approval of Bylaws moved by Commissioner Wells and seconded by Commissioner Sloan. 3-0 vote for adoption.
- 5. Electrical Vehicle Policy
 - a. Discussion of who owns public infrastructure of electrical vehicle charging.
 - b. Discussion of adding charging station infrastructure to the Comp Land Use plan.
 - c. Next steps:
 - i. Work to create board resolution supporting County owned zero emission vehicles, bring
 - ii. Discussion of AVL data when it becomes available
- 6. CPACE
 - a. Updated from Jeremiah LeRoy

- b. Update at next meeting about which PACE programs have worked or failed in other communities.
- 7. Meeting Schedule/Agenda Setting
 - a. Future meetings will be the $3^{\rm rd}$ Friday of the Month at 10am in Room 310 at 200 College Street.
 - b. Agenda setting discussion
- 8. Adjourn
 - a. Motion by Commissioner Sloan, seconded by Commissioner Wells. 3-0 vote to approve.