Buncombe County Government List of Principal Officials June 30, 2008 Board of Commissioners



Nathan Ramsey, Chairman

Nathan Ramsey is in his second term as Chairman of the Board. He is a thirty year resident of the Fairview Community in Buncombe County. He has a BS degree in accounting from the University of North Carolina at Asheville and a law degree from the University of Tennessee. He and his family own a dairy farm in Fairview. Nathan and his wife, Robin, live in Fairview. Chairman Ramsey currently serves on the Buncombe County Health Board, Buncombe County Audit Committee, Asheville Area Chamber of Commerce, Buncombe County Farm Bureau Board, French Broad MPO and the North Carolina Health Insurance Innovations Commission.



David Gantt, Vice Chairman

David Gantt, an attorney, is serving his third term on the Board. He is currently an active member of the Boards of Metropolitan Sewerage District, Asheville Regional Airport Authority, Eblen Charities, United Way, Asheville Buncombe Community Relations Council, Land of Sky Regional Council, and Martin Luther King, Jr. Committee. Commissioner Gantt is an advocate for education and the working people of Buncombe County.



Bill Stanley, Commissioner

A retired high school coach and principal, Bill Stanley is serving his fifth term. In addition to his local involvement in civic affairs, he is a former President of the North Carolina Association of County Commissioners and is currently serving as a member of the MPO, RPO, Land of Sky Regional Council and the Civic Center Task Force. Commissioner Stanley was recently appointed to the NC Advisory Commission on Military Affairs by Senate President Pro Tem Marc Basnight.



Carol Peterson, Commissioner

A fifth generation native of Buncombe County and a retired Director of Vocation for the Asheville City Schools, Carol Peterson is serving her first term of office. She also serves as the Vice Chair for Asheville Buncombe Technical Community College Board of Trustees, Children First, College for Seniors, UNC-A, Juvenile Crime Prevention Committee, Pack Place Board and Smart Start.



David Young, Commissioner

In his fourth term as Commissioner, David Young is very involved in local and regional economic development serving as the past Chairman and current member of the Economic Development Coalition, Blue Ridge Film Advisory Board, Tourism and Development Authority, and was the past chairman of the Asheville Regional Airport Authority. He is currently serving on the UNC Board of Governors and is currently serving as President of the North Carolina Association of County Commissioners. He is also part owner of Fugazy Travel.

County Officials

Wanda S. Greene, PhD, CPA Jon Creighton, MBA Amanda Stone. MSW Kathy Hughes Joseph A. Connolly, JD Donna B. Clark **Otto DeBruhl** Van Duncan Fran Thigpen Pat Freeman Trena Parker, MPA Sharon West Ed Sheary, MSLS Jerry VeHaun Matt Stone Robert Thornberry, Jr., MA **Glen Hughes Kim Pruett** Gary Roberts Gary Higgins Kenneth Reeves **Greg Israel**

County Manager Asst. County Manager/Planning Director Asst. County Manager/Social Services Director Clerk to the Board **County Attorney Finance Director Register of Deeds** Sheriff **Parks Greenways and Recreation Director City/County Bureau of Identification Director Elections Supervisor Interim Health Director Library Director Emergency Services Director Permits & Inspections Director Personnel Director Technology Services Director Information Systems Director** Tax Director Soil & Water Conservation Director **Cooperative Extension Director General Services**