County of BUNCOMBE



2014 PRIMARY

Election Date: 05/06/2014

This is an official notice of an election to be conducted in **BUNCOMBE** County on **05/06/2014**. This notice contains a list of all of the ballot measures and federal, State, and local offices this county expects, as of this date, to be on the ballot on the date of the election. (See Attachment)

An Election Notice will be prepared not later than 100 days before a regularly scheduled election that permits absentee voting, and as soon as practicable in the case of an election or vacancy election not regularly scheduled. For a second primary, an Election Notice will be prepared, no later than the day following the date the appropriate board of elections orders that a second primary be held.

As soon as ballot styles are printed, this county board of elections will update this notice with the certified candidates for each office and ballot measures and referenda questions that will be on the ballot. For General Elections during even-numbered years, ballots will be printed **60 days** prior to the election. For statewide primaries and other elections (except municipal elections), ballots will be printed **50 days** prior to the election. Municipal ballots are available **30 days** prior to Election Day. **You must request an updated Election Notice.**

Transmitting a Federal Write-in Absentee Ballot:

This notice may be used in conjunction with the federal write-in absentee ballot (FWAB). Covered military & overseas voters seeking to vote by absentee ballot may use the FWAB to register to vote, request an absentee ballot, and vote an official military-overseas ballot. When using the FWAB to register to vote, and/or request an absentee ballot, please transmit your signed and completed FWAB no later than **5:00 p.m. on the day before Election Day**. If submitted later than this day and time, your absentee ballot will not be counted. Federal write-in absentee ballots are available at <u>www.NCSBE.gov</u>. You may also request a regular absentee ballot by using the federal postcard application (FPCA), available at <u>www.FVAP.gov</u> A regular ballot can be mailed, faxed or emailed to you. You may return the FWAB or a regular absentee ballot by mail, secure fax (1-919-715-0351) or email (<u>uocava.absentee@sboe.state.nc.us</u>).

Marking a Federal Write-in Absentee Ballot:

When marking a FWAB, for each office for which you wish to vote, write in either a candidate's name or political party designation. For ballot measures or referenda, write either "YES" (you are *for* the ballot measure or referendum) or "NO" (you are *against* the ballot measure or referendum). In a primary, if you are registered as Democrat, Republican or Libertarian, for partisan contests, you may only vote for the candidates of the party for which you are affiliated. You are also eligible to vote for non-partisan contests. If you are registered as unaffiliated ("independent"), in a primary, you may choose to vote for the partisan contests of one of the parties <u>or</u> you may choose to vote for non-partisan contests of one of the parties <u>or</u> you may choose to vote for non-partisan contests.

Please check the website for the NC State Board of Elections (<u>www.NCSBE.gov</u>) for additional information on militaryoverseas absentee voting.

Election Notice Of Contests and Referenda BUNCOMBE BOARD OF ELECTIONS (05/06/2014)

BUNCOMBE BOARD OF ELECTIONS (05/06/2014)

	CANDIDATE NAME	NAME ON BALLOT	PARTY
US SENATE			
	THOMAS TILLIS	Thom Tillis	REP
	JAMES SNYDER	Jim Snyder	REP
	EDWARD KRYN	Edward Kryn	REP
	MARK HARRIS	Mark Harris	REP
	HEATHER GRANT	Heather Grant	REP
	ALEX BRADSHAW	Alex Lee Bradshaw	REP
	GREGORY BRANNON	Greg Brannon	REP
	WILLIAM ALEXANDER	Ted Alexander	REP
	WILLIAM STEWART	Will Stewart	DEM
	ERNEST REEVES	Ernest T. Reeves	DEM
	JANET HAGAN	Kay Hagan	DEM
	SEAN HAUGH	Sean Haugh	LIB
	TIMOTHY D'ANNUNZIO	Tim D'Annunzio	LIB
US HOUSE OF 10	REPRESENTATIVES DIST	RICT	
	PATRICK MCHENRY	Patrick McHenry	REP
	RICHARD LYNCH	Richard Lynch	REP
US HOUSE OF 11	REPRESENTATIVES DIST	RICT	
	KEITH RUEHL	Keith Ruehl	DEM
	THOMAS HILL	Tom Hill	DEM
NC STATE SE	NATE DISTRICT 49		
	R CLARK	RL Clark	REP
	MARK CRAWFORD	Mark Crawford	REP
	CLARENCE YOUNG	Clarence E. Young	REP
DISTRICT ATT	ORNEY DISTRICT 28		
	TODD WILLIAMS	Todd M. Williams	DEM
	RONALD MOORE	Ron Moore	DEM
BOARD OF CO DISTRICT 1	OUNTY COMMISSIONERS		
	BROWNIE NEWMAN	Brownie Newman	DEM
	WILLIAM YOUNG	Keith Young	DEM
BOARD OF CO DISTRICT 2	OUNTY COMMISSIONERS		
	CAROL PETERSON	Carol Weir Peterson	DEM
	ELLEN FROST	Ellen Frost	DEM
BOARD OF CO DISTRICT 3	OUNTY COMMISSIONERS		
	DAVID KING	David King	REP
	MIRANDA DEBRUHL	Miranda DeBruhl	REP
	LEWIS CLAY	Lewis Clay	REP
CLERK OF SU	PERIOR COURT		
	STEVEN STONE	Cary Stone	DEM
	STEVEN COGBURN	Steven Cogburn	DEM

CANDIDATE NAME	NAME ON BALLOT	PARTY
SUPREME COURT ASSOCIATE JUSTIC (HUDSON)	≣	
ERIC LEVINSON	Eric Levinson	
ROBIN HUDSON	Robin Hudson	
JEANETTE DORAN	Jeanette Doran	
DISTRICT COURT JUDGE DISTRICT 28 (CLONTZ)		
JAMES MARTIN	J. Matthew Martin	
EDWIN CLONTZ	Ed Clontz	
JAMES AMBURGEY	J. Thomas Amburgey	